CFAES Give Today
Agronomic Crops Network

Ohio State University Extension


Register for the Ohio Certified Crop Adviser Pre-Exam Class

The Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) Exam Training program, sponsored and delivered by the OSU Agronomic Crops Team, will be offered at the Shelby County Extension Office, Sidney, Ohio on January 9 & 10, 2019 beginning at 9:00 a.m. on the 9th and adjourn by 5:00 p.m. on the 10th. 

The price for the Pre-Exam preparation class is $250. Secure on-line registration via credit card, debit card or check is available at:

Register early; due to class interaction, we keep it small. This is an intensive two-day program somewhat directed toward the local exam – to be used as a reminder on what best to study in preparation for the CCA exams.

What we cover in the class:

Nutrient Management Concepts

- Soil pH and Liming

- Primary Nutrients

- Secondary Nutrients


- Micronutrients


- Nutrient deficiencies

Soil and Water Management

- Soil Properties

- Soil Water


- Surface and Ground Water

- Soil & Wind Erosion

Pest Management

- Weeds

- Insects


- Diseases

Fertilizer & Pesticide Math

Crop Management

- Crop Production

- Photosynthesis


- Crop Physiology

- Variety Selection

Course contact:

Harold Watters, CPAg/CCA
Ohio State University Extension
1100 S. Detroit St
Bellefontaine, OH 43311
Phone 937 604-2415 cell, or by email: for more information.

We will provide at the program on January 9 & 10 the following publications in addition to lectures:

  • The new Ohio Agronomy Guide
  • Ohio, Indiana & Illinois Weed Control Guide
  • Corn, Soybean, Wheat and Alfalfa Field Guide or equivalent
  • Tri-State Fertilizer Recommendations and
  • Modern Corn & Soybean Production
  • Q & A, practice questions, and many handouts

Meals, snacks, drinks will also be provided at the site during the class.

Not covered directly in the class is the international exam. We recommend this very good study resource for the international exam, “Preparing for the International CCA Exam” available for purchase from IPNI. The 2018 edition is available: This guide is divided into the four categories of the exam: Nutrient Management, Crop Management, Pest Management, Soil/Water Management with subject matter and questions/answers at the end of each chapter. This manual is an excellent study guide for the International Exam.

For more information on the Certified Crop Adviser program see

There are four steps to certification; the steps below are simply an overview of the process of becoming a CCA. Anyone interested in becoming certified is encouraged to review the detailed documentation in the Credential Information Workbook before starting the process. The steps to certification are:

1.  Pass two comprehensive exams (International and Local Board). CCA exams will be given twice in 2019, the first Friday in February and in August. Register for the February exam at, at least six weeks before the next exam on February 1st.

2.  Meet the experience requirements

  • Have at least two years of experience with at least a Bachelor of Science Degree in an agronomy related field, (the number of CCAs with at least a Bachelor of Science Degree is greater than 70%).
  • Have at least three years of experience with an Associates Degree in an agronomy related field,
  • Or have at least four years of experience with no degree.

3.  Apply for the CCA Credential.

4. Document education and crop advising experience (including transcripts and supporting references). Sign and agree to uphold the CCA Code of Ethics (included in application).

Once Certified you must earn 40 hours of continuing education (CEU) every two years and pay an annual renewal fee.

Already a CCA and want to up your value?

Current CCAs can take additional exams to show their specialization. You must already be a CCA but can sit for one of the specialty exams at the same time the regular exams are given.

Specialty Certifications

  • Precision Agriculture Specialty (PASp) Certification
  • Resistance Management Specialty (RMS) Certification
  • Sustainability Specialty (SSp) Certification
  • 4R Nutrient Management Specialty (4R NMS) Certification

One other specialization that doesn’t require a further exam beyond the CCA is the CPAg – Certified Professional Agronomist. This requires documenting more years of experience than the CCA, and an agronomy degree with strong education in both crops and soils. See the Certified Crop Adviser website for more information:

Crop Observation and Recommendation Network

C.O.R.N. Newsletter is a summary of crop observations, related information, and appropriate recommendations for Ohio crop producers and industry. C.O.R.N. Newsletter is produced by the Ohio State University Extension Agronomy Team, state specialists at The Ohio State University and the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center (OARDC). C.O.R.N. Newsletter questions are directed to Extension and OARDC state specialists and associates at Ohio State.